What kind of harness do I have?

In Leviticus chapter 26 God is telling the Israelites (His chosen people) all He will do for them if they will follow Him, obey Him.  Check out vs 11-13 (the message paraphrase)

“I’ll set up my residence in your neighborhood; I won’t avoid or shun you; I’ll stroll through your streets.  I’ll be your God; you’ll be my people.  I am God, your personal God who rescued you from Egypt so that you would no longer be slaves to the Egyptians.  I ripped off the harness of your slavery so that you can move about freely.”

That last line jumped out at me this morning.  I might not be owned by another human being but that doesn’t mean I don’t serve a master.  I thought about all the weight God has already removed (painfully at times) from my life and how much freer I am now because of it.  To move about freely…I think this means without limitations.  So, what limits me?  What does my harness look like?  For me it still looks like approval, pleasing people and meeting their demands at times.  Getting my worth validated through the “atta girl” of others is limiting b/c if I don’t get it then I feel “stuck.”  The idea of being free from our limitations seems so inviting but it involves the “ripping off” of the things weighing us down and it can be a humbling and painful process.   Whatever the harness…acceptance, status, position, material posessions, a number on a scale, past mistakes, wounds from childhood…God is ready and able to free us so we can “move about freely.”

Leave a Reply

