Nothing Gets Lost

Psalm 36:5-10 (the message)
God’s love is meteoric,
   his loyalty astronomic,
His purpose titanic,
   his verdicts oceanic.
Yet in his largeness
   nothing gets lost;
Not a man, not a mouse,
   slips through the cracks.
How exquisite your love, O God!
   How eager we are to run under your wings,
To eat our fill at the banquet you spread
   as you fill our tankards with Eden spring water.
You’re a fountain of cascading light,
   and you open our eyes to light.
Keep on loving your friends;
   do your work in welcoming hearts.

Lately I have heard a lot of bad news.  Multiple cancers, a tragic death, a dying baby, lost jobs.  I see hurting people…lonely and confused.  Sometimes, even in my little world, I look around and say, God, there is so much pain!  Last night my Pastor asked us to take a look at our hearts…does my heart break for what God’s heart breaks for?  Do I feel a measure of sympathy or does my heart truly break with compassion like Jesus’ did?  Maybe because of media we are somewhat desensitized to “bad news.”  Perhaps we develop a thick skin as a defense mechanism…after all we could potentially be grieving all the time! 

Honestly, my heart does not truly break every time.  Really, there are just some things I cannot comprehend.  I pray that God continually makes my heart more like His…but even when I cannot relate to another’s pain I know for certain that Jesus does.  So, the scripture above is for all of you who are facing a mountain right now.  I love the poetry of it…the description of God’s love and loyalty…His “BIGNESS!”  Really, read it again…let it sink into your heart.  Our God, the Creator of the galaxies, has not forgotten you!  It says that even in His largeness, nothing gets lost or slips through the cracks.  Not a man, not a mouse.  Your problems or circumstances are not too big for Him…and they are not too small, either!  Sometimes the greatest treasure or reward in life is not having things work out just the way you want…sometimes the most precious, life-changing experience happens in your time under His wings.  If you don’t know how to get there…I mean it sounds nice but kind of “pie-in-the-sky”…then I just want to encourage you to get alone and be as honest and real with God as you can (out loud!).  Jesus is very real and the Holy Spirit is very real…you can’t see Him with your eyes but if you will take a chance, set aside any preconceived notions, and just “be” with Him I promise He won’t let you down.  As the last part of the scripture says…have a welcoming heart.  God is not a puppet-master.  He created us for actual relationship with Him and He does not force us.  What gives you greater pleasure:   someone you love spending time with you because they want to or because they are forced to?  God is good and He is loving…He longs to speak to and heal the welcoming heart, but He will not force us.

I can’t say I have been where you are today.  I probably haven’t.  I have been some other places, but probably not yours.  What I can say, and my heart longs to convey, is that as large as God is you are not lost in Him.  He sees you reading this…He knows every concern, fear and pain.  My prayer is that you find your place under His wings…that you welcome Him into your heart.  See, there is nothing, nothing, nothing in life more precious than knowing Jesus as a friend.  He is powerful enough to change a life yet gentle enough to wait on an invitation.  You are not alone…this is a reminder that God sees you…you are not forgotten…and you are loved by a passionate Creator.  He has a “you-shaped” spot waiting under His wings…nothing gets wasted or lost there.

2 thoughts on “Nothing Gets Lost

Leave a Reply

