Another Chance

Psalm 30
I give you all the credit, God–
you got me out of that mess,
you didn’t let my foes gloat.

God, my God, I yelled for help
and you put me together.
God you pulled me out of the grave,
gave me another chance at life
when I was down-and-out.

All you saints! Sing your hearts out to God!
Thank him to his face!
He gets angry once in a while, but across
a lifetime there is only love.
The nights of crying your eyes out
give way to days of laughter.

When things were going great
I crowed, “I’ve got it made.
I’m God’s favorite.
He made me king of the mountain.”
Then you looked the other way
and I fell to pieces.

I called out to you, God;
I laid my case before you:
“Can you sell me for a profit when I’m dead?
auction me off at a cemetary yardsale?
When I’m ‘dust to dust’ my songs
and stories of you won’t sell.
So listen! and be kind!
Help me out of this!”

You did it: you changed wild lament
into whirling dance;
You ripped off my black mourning band
and decked me with wildflowers.
I’m about to burst with song;
I can’t keep quiet about you.
God, my God,
I can’t thank you enough.

Another  chance.  Not a “second chance.”  Not “one last chance.”  Another Chance.

Are you down-and-out?  Do you feel like you are in the grave?  Are your dreams, plans, relationships or your very hope on life support?  Yell for God! He will put you together…He will pull you out of that grave and give you another chance.  I love how Psalm 30 says “He gets angry once in a while, but across a lifetime there is only love.”  When we find ourselves in the pit, even from our own digging, it seems so easy to just keep digging and cowering from the “wrath” or “disapproval” of God that we fear.  Perhaps if we just don’t look Him in the eye we can convince ourselves we aren’t where we find ourselves…we aren’t who we are.  Maybe God is a little angry and displeased!  But the Bible says His anger lasts a moment and His compassion endures forever.  We don’t have to cower or run from our perceived sense of what disappointing God means.  Finding ourselves in a messy situation means we are human…like the great shepherd-king David, who wrote the Psalm above.  I LOVE the story of David’s life…you can read about him in 1st and 2nd Samuel in the old testament.  As God was looking for the next king of Israel, He sent the prophet Samuel to the home of Jesse in Bethlehem.  Samuel looked over Jesse’s many strong and handsome sons, thinking certainly one of these would be God’s choice.  But you know who God ordained, chose, as the next king?  The youngest son…the teenage shepherd out tending the sheep!  Not the most “qualified” by human standards…not the tallest or strongest or most handsome.  God loves to choose the underdog!  Many years passed before David actually took the throne of Israel and in the mean time he repeatedly had to run from people wanting to kill him, hide out in caves and seek God.  Even after he was King, David committed adultery with Bathsheba and then had her husband murdered!  But you know what God called David?  “A man after  my own heart.”  Why?  How could that be?  I mean if you have been chosen by God, after you have been faithful to Him through many hardships, and then you completely blow it with adultery and having someone murdered…it seems like if there is any example of someone who would run for the rest of his life in shame from God it would have been David.  But eventually, after a season, David humbled himself…David cried out for the forgiveness of God…David knew if God did not rescue him and give him another chance he was finished.  Did David think he deserved another chance?  I seriously doubt it!  What David knew in his heart was that forgiveness, grace and “another chance” would come because of the goodness of God…because of God’s character and greatness…not because of anything David could offer. 

It doesn’t matter what the walls of your pit look like.  It doesn’t matter how deep it is or how long you have been there.  It doesn’t matter how long the list of sin is in your life.  It doesn’t matter if the list you keep is one of the sins against you.  It doesn’t matter if this would be chance number 20.  God isn’t giving you a second chance or one last chance.  God is giving you another chance.  You know what makes you eligible for another chance?  It’s not perfection (those people don’t think they need any chances!), it’s not whether or not you need to look in the table of contents to find a book of the Bible, it’s not how much you know from your years of sunday school, it’s not whatever role or responsibilities you have in your church.  It’s not even whether or not you go to church.  What brings about another chance, a rescue, in your life?  A contrite heart and a willingness to yield to God.  Recognizing and confessing to your Creator that indeed you are in a pit…being so tired of living in the pit that you are willing to take His hand and let Him lead.  Saying “yes” to Jesus every time He nudges your heart to spend time with Him.  Being willing to obey Him when He asks you to make changes or make amends.  Most importantly, taking the greatest chance of your life and throwing wide the doors of your heart so that the incredible, infallible love of God can flood your life.  You are loved, always.  You have the opportunity to live in freedom from the weight of sin and the scars in your soul.  Life with Jesus is not about perfection…it’s always about being loved and growing in freedom to love others…and it comes chance after chance after chance.  Are you desperate enough?

Leave a Reply

