Whispered Truth

How many times, Lord, will I doubt You?
How many times will I test Your patience?

How many times, Lord, will I try to take control?
How many times will I wring my hands in frustration?

How many times, Lord, will I forget all You have done for me?
How many times will I lose focus of Your faithfulness?

How many times, Lord, will I let anger in?
How many times must I repent for letting offense take hold?

How many times, Lord, will I succumb to discouragement?
How many times will I let doubt and fear flow from my lips?

How many times, Lord, will I gaze back on yesterday’s comfort?
How many times will I resist stepping all the way out?

How many times, Lord?
How many times?

How many times will You encourage me?  Comfort me?  Forgive me?

How many times, Lord, will you extend compassion
     toward my weak and flawed way of thinking?
How many times are you willing to lead me
     around this same mountain of trust and surrender?

Ah, yes. Even when I am unsure and shaken I hear the 
   whispered truth of Your Word:

As many times as it takes.

Leave a Reply

