Within

Proverbs 20:5 (the message)
Knowing what is right is like deep water in the heart;
     a wise person draws from the well within.

When you live your life attentive and tender-hearted toward the Holy Spirit, you have a deep well of wisdom within.  There is the possibility that instead of stressing over situations and decisions that need to be made, you can pray and listen…find direction from the God who loves you. 

I was talking briefly at church yesterday with a friend about the Holy Spirit.  I don’t pretend to really grasp the trinity:  God in three persons…God the Father, God the Son (Jesus) and God the Holy Spirit.  But deep inside, within my spirit where Holy Spirit dwells, I connect with God completely.  It could never be with my mind or mental understanding.  How could I ever have Him all figured out?  The more I know Him the more I realize how vast He is.  Sometimes I “feel” God’s presence and my emotions are affected.  Sometimes I don’t “feel” Him but He has been teaching me that it is from my faith growing from this well within that I live in the peace and certainty that God is absolutely with me.

The Holy Spirit is a person.  He will speak to your heart…like a little tug on the inside that leads you this way or that.  As you take a chance and listen you will discover that God the Holy Spirit, dwelling within if you are born-again, is quite personal and longs to give you truth and direction for your life. 

I don’t always listen.  There have been many times in my life when I was too hard-hearted to be able to hear Him.  And sometimes I sense Him leading but I choose to go my own way.  Other times, however, as I learn to yield to Holy Spirit I discover the true awesomeness of God.  How He really wants to help me, lead me, move within and through me.  The Bible calls Holy Spirit a “helper.”  Absolutely.

My prayer for my own life as well as yours is that we continue, or begin, to draw from the deep well within our hearts.  That we take the time necessary to cultivate relationship with not only our Father and Jesus, but Holy Spirit who is very much God within our spirits if we are born-again…if we have recognized and repented of our sin and confessed our need for Jesus…acknowleding that He is the Son and His death and resurrection bridged the gap between us and Creator. 

I am (at times!) speechless to discover what listening to and following the Holy Spirit does in life.  He is wonderful and gentle and true.  I pray you know Him well.

Leave a Reply

