High Noon

Acts 17: 26-28 (the message)
Starting from scratch, he made the human race and made the earth hospitable, with plenty of time and space for living so we could seek after God, and not just grope around in the dark but actually find him. He doesn’t play hide-and-seek with us. He’s not remote; he’s near. We live and move in him, can’t get away from him…

This morning, as I looked into the dark sky through my kitchen windows, I thought about how when Jesus is lifted high in our lives it’s like the sun coming up. 

When it’s dark you can only see the outline of vague shapes and shadows around you. You can’t make out the details.  As the sun begins to rise and light is cast on your surroundings you experience a clearer picture.  Many of us live life in the dark.  We know, generally speaking, what we are about…our jobs, family, talents, hurts and disappointments.  But because we are not living in the light we tend to “grope” through life as the scripture above describes.  We grasp at purpose because we can’t clearly see who God made us to be.  We claw at fulfillment and acceptance because we don’t have God’s supernatural love shining on our lives.  We search and search for meaning and peace but continue to stumble until we experience the true “Son-Rise” as a friend recently put it.

If you are searching as you read this post, please know that God wants you to find Him.  He isn’t hiding from you, but until Jesus rises in your life you won’t see it clearly.  You know, there has yet to be a day when I woke up and felt nervous about whether the sun would indeed rise that morning.  I just trust that it will.  I know that the sun is part of this majestic creation and plan of God…I know I had nothing to do with it but I certainly benefit.  I don’t close the blinds or try to shut the sun out.  The light that floods my house may in fact expose some dust bunnies or a floor that needs to be mopped, but light always brings truth. 

Giving Jesus permission to rise in your life will certainly bring truth, but God loves you and there is nothing to fear.  Even if your truth is painful or unpleasant you will only heal or find forgiveness as you embrace the warmth of God’s love.  Jesus can change your life.  God is absolutely near.  Won’t you let the light of Jesus show you the details?

The following are lyrics from a song by Natalie Grant called “So Long.”  Although I asked Jesus into my life as a child, I have in the last 18 months experienced the Son at high noon…shining brighter and hotter than ever…and every time I hear this song I want to dance (and do!) because it’s my life…

“So Long”

Mystified by the struggle
To survive my own pride
Haunted by the demons
Of my past life
Who am I and why do I
Are questions that keep running
Through my mind
But underneath this shallow skin
A brand new me is comin’ out,
Comin’ out from within

[Chorus:]
So long
Farewell to my old self
Good-bye to the lie that I can’t be someone else
Cause who I was ain’t who I am
(I know that) I’ve been born again
Those stains of my history are gone, gone, gone
So long

Apathy, hunting me
Like some contagious disease
Hypocrisy hiding in the shadows
Of the former me
Doin’ what comes naturally
I’m not who I want to be
I’m ready to, ready to be free

So long
Farewell to my old self
Good-bye to the lie that I can’t be someone else
Cause who I was ain’t who I am
(I know that) I’ve been born again
Those stains of my history are gone, gone, gone
So long

Na-na-na, na-na-na-na
Hey, hey, hey
So long

Na-na-na, na-na-na-na
Hey, hey, hey
So long

One thought on “High Noon

  1. I love what you said:
    The light that floods my house may in fact expose some dust bunnies or a floor that needs to be mopped, but light always brings truth.

    This can be a scary thing but with God never leaving our side we can work through our “junk”, which allows us to sparkle and shine for Him.

    Like

Leave a Reply

