For the Heart-Broken

A couple of months ago I was facing a challenge, a loss, and as I was driving I heard this song for the first time. The lyrics washed over me and tears streamed down my face as I drove. Have you ever experienced that? The perfect song in only God’s impeccable timing. I’ll never hear this song and it not touch my heart…the truth of it…and reading the lyrics won’t suffice. I hope you take the time to click on the link at the bottom, especially if you are heart-broken. I have thought about sharing the lyrics before but lately the thought won’t leave me alone, so this must be for someone who reads this post. And as I listened to this song driving to Leah’s preschool today, I thought of one of my all-time favorite verses…one I discovered in nursing school…Psalm 62:8 Trust in him at all times, O people; pour out your hearts to him, for God is our refuge (NIV). See, Jesus just loves us so much and He wants us to pour out our hearts. It is safe to be real with Him. God understands us so much better than we can even understand ourselves. He completely takes us as we are, wherever we are, and wraps us in His love. And like this song says…sometimes just being completely real and broken with God is much, much better than a hallelujah…

“Better Than A Hallelujah” Amy Grant

God loves a lullaby
In a mothers tears in the dead of night
Better than a Hallelujah sometimes.
God loves a drunkards cry,
The soldiers plea not to let him die
Better than a Hallelujah sometimes.

We pour out our miseries
God just hears a melody
Beautiful the mess we are
The honest cries of breaking hearts
Are better than a Hallelujah

The woman holding on for life,
The dying man giving up the fight
Are better than a Hallelujah sometimes
The tears of shame for what’s been done,
The silence when the words won’t come
Are better than a Hallelujah sometimes.

We pour out our miseries
God just hears a melody
Beautiful the mess we are
The honest cries of breaking hearts
Are better than a Hallelujah

Better than a church bell ringing,
Better than a choir singing out,singing out.

We pour out our miseries
God just hears a melody
Beautiful the mess we are
The honest cries of breaking hearts
Are better than a Hallelujah

YouTube – Better than a Hallelujah (lyrics) Amy Grant.

Leave a Reply

