What God Can’t Do

Hebrews 6:16-19 (New Living Translation)
Now when people take an oath, they call on someone greater than themselves to hold them to it. And without any question that oath is binding. God also bound himself with an oath, so that those who received the promise could be perfectly sure that he would never change his mind. So God has given both his promise and his oath. These two things are unchangeable because it is impossible for God to lie. Therefore, we who have fled to him for refuge can have a great confidence as we hold to the hope that lies before us. This hope is a strong and trustworthy anchor for our souls. It leads us through the curtain into God’s inner sanctuary.

The Bible is full of promises and verses about what God can do, has done and will do.  But here we see an impossibility for God!  He can’t ever change His mind and He can’t lie…

So this is one of those mornings when I am looking up and reading a verse for myself and as I keep reading I sense that inner pause as I come across a certain phrase.  “This hope is a strong and trustworthy anchor for our souls.”  The Bible says hope is a strong and trustworthy anchor for our soul (mind, will and emotions).  I believe we are at our core spirit (where God’s Spirit resides when we invite Him in), that we live in a human body and have a soul, or mind, will and emotions.  I know terms get used interchangeably and really it doesn’t matter to me!  The reason I share is because I believe when we surrender our hearts to God and confess our belief in Jesus then our spirit is “born again”  or made new.  I smile as I type this out because now-a-days the term ‘born again’ is like taboo or strange!  Yet, it’s in the Bible so what else can I say?!  Jesus probably not so concerned…smile…

So, how do we cope or what do we make of our ‘born again’ selves still struggling with habits and hurts, insecurities and doubt, failures and what may feel like chains still attached to our ankles?  Well, this morning I humbly offer you the scripture above.  God, Creator, made some promises!  And here is the greatest one…the bedrock.  I’m gonna use the Amplified version which I always like to read slowly so I can soak it in.  Hope you will as well:

Romans 10:9-11
Because if you acknowledge and confess with your lips that Jesus is Lord and in your heart believe (adhere to, trust in, and rely on the truth) that God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved. For with the heart a person believes (adheres to, trusts in, and relies on Christ) and so is justified (declared righteous, acceptable to God), and with the mouth he confesses (declares openly and speaks out freely his faith) and confirms {his} salvation. The Scripture says, No man who believes in Him {who adheres to, relies on, and trusts in Him} will {ever} be put to shame or be disappointed.

God has promised that when we believe Him, trust Jesus is in fact who He claimed to be, and confess this belief we are saved.  He is our Father.  Jesus our Savior-King and friend.  Holy Spirit our helper, comforter.  And as the scripture above in Hebrews explains, God gives not just His promise but His oath.  I am touched this morning by the compassion of our God.  I mean, really Him being God and all you would think we would take Him at His Word.  But because He understands our humanity and loves us so much He backs it up with an oath so we can be “perfectly sure.”  And it is this hope in His inability to lie or change His mind that can anchor our souls.  Steady us.  Keep us from drifting too far away when the storms of life are rocking our life’s boat.

You know I am not a Bible Scholar.  Just a jeans and flip-flop clad mama of three sitting at her kitchen table listening to Chris Qualila of Jesus Culture belt out these lyrics:  Open up your heart and let Me in…Open up your heart and let Me in.  Yes, yes that timeless invitation from Creator.  The One who knows you so well, loves you so well, that He not only gave you a promise, but followed up with an oath.  As if He could hear us reading His Word and asking deep inside ourselves, Are You sure about this, God?  You do realize who I am…what I’ve done?  His answer is Yes.  Yes, Yes, Yes.   So you can be sure that regardless of the struggles you may face mentally, physically or emotionally you will not be put to shame or disappointed as you place your trust in Christ.  This great and crazy love that beckoned Creator down from His throne to walk a planet He Himself spoke into existance…this amazing and mystifying grace that longs to wipe away your tears with nail-scarred hands…this God-man, Jesus, living forevermore in a body.  Sometimes I imagine myself at His feet, holding on for dear life to this Healer, Forgiver, Grace-Giver.  In Him lies the fulfillment of every promise God has made to me…to you.  Hope that anchored me in a tornado of a marriage, loss of unborn life, confusion and shame from my past.  Hope that anchors me today in all of my questions and striving and overcoming.  Hope that will anchor and steady me in a tomorrow He already sees.  He is the hope and assurance that old, broken down ways of living and thinking can be made new.  Creator promised and I believe Him.

And I’m sure.

Leave a Reply

