Losing Our Grip

Deuteronomy 31:8 (NIV)
The Lord himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.

(Amplified)
It is the Lord Who goes before you; He will {march} with you; He will not fail you or let you go or forsake you; {let there be no cowardice or flinching, but} fear not, neither become broken {in spirit–depressed, dismayed, and unnerved with alarm}.

My children will be waking up in a few short minutes.  But I am thinking someone else, like me,  may need a reminder sometime today…

God is with us.  He is for us.  He will never leave us, never forsake us and never let us go.

As I was preparing coffee and starting a load of laundry this morning, I stopped to read my daily devotional from Proverbs 31 Ministries.  Goodness, what encouragement I found.  See no matter what we face each day, He is with us.  We are not alone.  God does not expect or ask us to face the day alone.  When we do, the day is robbed of His glory, His power, His strength, His go-before-us-ness.

As I sat at my table thinking of the day ahead…my personal struggles…the weight of all I long to be and can’t seem to be…I heard these words whispered to my heart:  I will never leave you, never forsake you.

Thanks to technology I could type those words into my device and within minutes found myself in Deuteronomy.  Reading the words Moses was speaking to Joshua as he was handing over the mantle of leadership.  Joshua would be the one to lead God’s people into the Promised Land.  Joshua would face obstacles.  Battles.  So, before he took even the first step Moses encouraged him not to become afraid.  God was going ahead of him, preparing the way.  I like the Amplified version, He will not fail you or let you go or forsake you…Don’t become depressed or dismayed.

Certainly Moses knew, after leading the Israelites in the desert so many years, that challenges would come.  The journey to the Promised Land would require courage.  Even more, it would require Joshua know one thing above all others:  God was with him.  God was going before him and preparing the way.  God would never, ever leave Joshua or let him go.

I don’t know what you face today.  Perhaps you are facing major life changes.  Perhaps you are facing major loads of laundry.  Perhaps, like me, you so often start your day with hopes that you will handle it better than you did yesterday.  Hoping in our own abilities, even full of good intent, may leave us “dismayed” and fearful.

This morning, as my children are now fully awake and ready to start their day, I am thankful for God’s reminder to my own heart.  My day is just beginning and yet He has already gone ahead of me.  And  miraculously, He also goes with me.  No matter what our days hold, our God is marching ahead and beside us.  We are not doing life alone.  We are not facing the life-change or laundry alone.  We are not raising our children alone.  We are not in our marriages alone.  We are not stepping into our workday alone.  We are not hearing doctor’s reports, good or bad, alone.  We are not shushing crying infants alone.  We are not looking into classrooms full of little faces alone.  We are not holding our elderly loved one’s frail hand alone.  We are not sitting in that meeting alone.

We.  Are.  Not.  Alone.

The God who sees our life with a panoramic lens knows what today holds.  And tomorrow.  And the next day.  He’s been there.  He is there now.  And yet, He is with us today.  Never leaving.  Never forsaking.  Never letting go.

Sometimes we feel like we’ve lost our grip on Him, on all we know of Him.  Often it’s in those times we discover the strength of His grip on us.

4 thoughts on “Losing Our Grip

  1. All I can say is “How could we ever live without him”. Once you know him there is now going back.

    Love you!

    Give me some dates you can meet for yogurt?

    ________________________________

    Like

  2. Hi Vanessa- Dana forwarded your blog today. I am now a subscriber and want to thank you for sharing this message. Looking forward to reading more.
    In Christ,
    Sandy

    Like

  3. Hi Sandy:)

    Thank you and I hope you find encouragement here, as well as someone being “real” about her journey with God in this sometimes messy life. Jesus is always good and kind and strong 🙂

    Have a great day!
    Vanessa

    Like

Leave a Reply

