Destination Unknown

Sometimes we aren’t sure what our next step should be. Sometimes we aren’t sure which option to choose. Sometimes we become weary or tired with the trying.  This scripture keeps coming to heart and mind this morning so if you are unsure of what’s next and tired of trying to figure it out, I pray this will encourage you…

Proverbs 3:5-8 (Amplified)
Lean on, trust in, and be confident in the Lord with all your heart and mind and do not rely on your own insight or understanding. In all your ways know, recognize, and acknowledge Him, and He will direct and make straight and plain your paths. Be not wise in your own eyes; reverently fear and worship the Lord and turn {entirely} away for evil. It shall be health to your nerves and sinews, and marrow and moistening to your bones.

I am encouraged to remember that God does not want me to rely on what I understand about my circumstances. God wants my confidence to come from trusting in Him with all my heart and mind. He is making a promise to us! If we acknowledge Him in all our ways, then God will make our path straight and plain. Even if we don’t understand or know the answers or what comes next, we can rest knowing that God is in fact leading and directing our path as long as we are seeking and submitted to Him.

I like how the Amplified says “be not wise in your own eyes…” How often I try to come up with answers and figure things out for myself! Perhaps God lets us continue on in our striving until we do indeed let go and place out trust in His outcomes for our lives. A second promise here: If I will worship the Lord and turn away from evil, I will experience health to my nerves…marrow and moistening to my bones. Okay, maybe that sounds a bit odd! I think this just means that if we will reverence God’s place of authority in our lives, if we live a life of worship and obedience, then we can expect healthy emotions and for our weary hearts to be revived.

I don’t know about you, but I really like to know the plan. I really, really like clarity. And see I’ve experienced amazing times of clarity about God’s plan and purposes for my life, so in the times when I don’t know what’s next it feels frustrating. I keep turning back to my own wisdom, trying to glean and understand and even talk God into letting me in on things! But, that’s not trusting. Not really.

As the rain falls on this gloomy Monday morning (at least in my part of the world!), the only peace I really find is in knowing that I do love Him. I am quite imperfect, but it is with all my heart I try to live acknowledging Him in my life. Apparently God will not be coerced into providing me a sneak peek for what comes down the road. He will, according to this verse however, make my path straight and plain. In other words, God may not tell me where we are going exactly but He will tell me how to get there.

Peace of mind and a revived heart come as I completely lean on, trust in and be confident in the Lord. Not my understanding. Not my need to know. It’s like standing on a precipice. My hands are tightly fisted and arms taught with reaching for answers, direction and the next destination…with holding on to what He said in past kitchen table days. So I stand on the edge, looking out into unidentifiable space. Having no idea what’s out there, what’s next, what He will do with my life but craving so deeply to hear Him speak.

Unclenching my hands and letting arms fall heavily to my sides, I suspect He is speaking clearly in the silence. God will not cave to my demands. He will not be manipulated by my anxiety and need to understand. He loves me too much to placate me and spoil my growth, I guess. The only answer I hear are words familiar that echo within:

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; In all your ways acknowledge Him, And He shall direct your paths. (NKJ)

God, I acknowledge Your authority in my life. I acknowledge Your hand always at work in my life. I find it such a struggle to walk in the dark and yet it is the light of Your Word that is a lamp unto my feet and illuminates the next step. Somehow in this season of yearning for answers I believe You are working in me. I believe there is a purpose in this season. For all of us, Lord, who long for Your will and Your presence please touch our hearts with Your truth.  That we can rest and be confident because You promise to lead the way when we determine to follow. No matter how disoriented we may feel at times, You promise to direct each step as we submit our lives to You.  I guess sometimes it’s only in not knowing the destination that we learn to really trust You on the journey.

Leave a Reply

