Sinking Stones

1 Samuel 2:2-3 (the message)
Nothing and no one is holy like God,
no rock mountain like our God.
Don’t dare talk pretentiously–
not a word of boasting, ever!
For God knows what’s going on.
He takes the measure of everything that happens.

It’s a sleepy morning in my part of the world. The words “sinking stones” keep bubbling up in my heart, but I resist and ask how can I write today when I have such yuck in my heart?

Because its Me, not you.

I certainly can’t argue with that. Most certainly I know it. I’m too tired to pretend or elevate. I have issues to work through just like every other person on our planet.

Sigh and smile…good to admit and good to remember.

So…

Life sometimes comes swinging at us like a heavyweight champ. News and realities drop on us like sinking stones.   Maybe interrupts us with a few unwelcome ripples or perhaps crashes in with hurricane force. They sink in with the weight of confusion and anger and quickly settle into places hard to reach. Places we’d rather not dig into.

Stones cause pain. Make us ask why.

I come from a rich background of believing in the goodness of God. I cut my spiritual teeth on trusting and persevering in His promises.

Good stuff.

Now what’s hard is when you live believing a good God will always give you what you want and that defines your expectation of “good.” I’ve been slowly gnawing at this truth…discovering my self-induced and skewed perception. God is good to us! But I give myself far too much credit if I think my human understanding can dictate to Him what passes as good.

Pause.

I’m not suggesting that evil things or calamity is good. I have no desire to even debate the point because even in horrific circumstances He can, and promises, to bring good if we love Him. (I believe this is the way Satan is crushed. The way of the Cross…when what the enemy plans for evil God uses for good.)

What I’m saying is that sometimes we are thrown a curveball. Sometimes things turn out so differently than we had expected. Sometimes we face stuff, big and small, that disrupts our idea of good.

And we don’t like disruptions.  We don’t like to fish out those sinking stones.

As I read Hannah’s prayer as she dedicated her long-awaited son to God, I was subtly struck and slightly annoyed.

See, we might not like the way He does things sometimes, but He is Holy. He’s mountain-rock strong. There is no one like Him. He knows the deal…He takes the measure of everything that happens.

He is God and I am not.

Now that isn’t the warm and fuzzy answer we want to hear.

But as I read on in chapter two these words also splinter my pride:

For the very structures of earth are God’s;
He has laid out his operations on a firm foundation.

Earth belongs to Him. The very structures of our universe are His. God lays out His plans and purposes on a firm foundation. And I believe it’s a foundation of big-picture wisdom.

This is why I think we buck hard against a no from Him. We don’t see the big picture, mostly we just see our emotions. If it feels bad to us it can’t be good.

Small picture.

Sometimes situations and information are going to plop themselves into our life, uninvited and unwelcome. I think it’s okay to work through our feelings and lay it out there with God. But at the end of the day (or week or month or year) we are going to have to settle it with Him.

He is absolutely good. And He absolutely knows what we don’t. So when the stones are grinding and it’s ticking us off…we might find peace in remembering Who He is and who we are not. We don’t have to always understand and have our way to find rest and peace. We might not get what we want or how we want, but if we love and trust Him we get what He wants and that is always better for us.  Sometimes annoying, but always better.

Don’t let sinking stones settle. Believe God is good even when His plans don’t feel good.

A favorite line from one of the girls’ movies, “Roach Approach,” sticks like glue when I don’t understand or like an answer…

God always knows something I don’t know.

This I want to let sink in.

Leave a Reply

