While He Whistles

2 Samuel 7:1-3 (the message)
Before long, the king made himself at home and God gave him peace from all his enemies. Then one day King David said to Nathan the prophet, “Look at this: Here I am, comfortable in a luxurious house of cedar, and the Chest of God sits in a plain tent.”
Nathan told the king, “Whatever is on your heart, go and do it. God is with you.”

The Chest of God, also known as the Ark of the Covenant, finally came to rest in the City of David. (Back story: God’s presence had been dwelling inside the Chest since He delivered the Israelites from Egyptian slavery. It was stolen, fought over and relocated several times.)

Now King David is finally at home…at rest and at peace. A smile comes as I consider how God’s presence brings rest and peace.

The Bible says He is the same yesterday, today and forever. Sometimes I have to really stop and think this through! You know, I’m reading about David and writing, I’m praying and listening. And I have to stop and realize that I’m in relationship with the same God Who chose to dwell in a Chest so He could be near and guide His people. I’m pouring my heart out to the same God David knew. I’m listening and responding to the same God Who spoke to David!

He has not changed.

The rest and peace in His presence has not changed.

The only thing that’s different is so crazy-good! Because Jesus became the ultimate sacrifice for our sin, Creator now dwells in our spirit, or heart, when we trust in Jesus and invite Him into our lives.

I sit now with a faint smile on my lips…gazing into my sunny backyard and thinking about how God’s nearness has affected my life. I’m quite sure I could never really express it…or even understand it fully. I’m wondering how I can ever articulate wind that blows away my past…balm that heals my wounds…green hope that blossoms bright and beautiful in the middle of my winter?

I can’t! Smile…so I’m not really going to try. I’m pausing now to pray. Yes, if you’ve heard about God’s love and comfort, His presence, but never really known it…never truly felt it…then I’m praying for you! Right now.

Lord, I know you love her. How much you love him. Please fill this reader’s heart with a keen awareness of Your presence. Let it surprise her! Let it take him off guard! Help them to sense in tangible ways the reality of Your love as they come closer to You. And Father, for the one who has known your presence but not been in it for so very long, the one who still craves Your nearness deep inside but has forgotten “how” to be with You, please whisper in her ear. Bring back the verses of a childhood brimming with truth…touch that place inside of her that longs for completion, for resolution, for rest. Thank You, Lord!

Now, sigh. Sweet sigh!

David is at home, or I like to think he’s in his “sweet spot.” He is smack-dab in the middle of the God-whisper for his life. The thing, the place, the destiny poured into his heart as Samuel poured oil over his head, anointing him as king, so many years ago. The sweet spot doesn’t mean no more conflict, no more sin, no more struggle. But I think it does mean spiritual rest and peace. Joy.

Comfortably living “at home” in God’s presence brought rest and peace into David’s life. And I find it super-interesting that as he received rest and peace, his heart’s focus turned outward. He looked around and noticed the Chest-of-God still sitting out under a tent.

Big smile on my face. I love this!

As we learn to be “at home” in His presence we find rest and peace for our lives, too! Jesus wants to heal us because He loves us, and then I believe He wants to draw our attention to others who need healing.

Others who need a home.

I hope that your perhaps wandering heart hears Him beckoning you home. I also hope you realize I’m not a really good little Christian blogger girl. Please don’t do that.

Ordinary and flawed and healing and becoming. That is who I am.

His presence is the sweet-spot. Creator is the soil your heart’s “whatever” grows in. He’s the person Who nurtures your soul, redeems your past and re-engineers your thinking.

Smile…He is the hand that happily flips you up and over and into someone you were always meant to be.

While He whistles.

I really think He’s happy to have us home!

Leave a Reply

