Family Heirloom

2 Samuel 7:25-26 (the message)
“So now, great God, this word that you have spoken to me and my family, guarantee it permanently! Do exactly what you’ve promised! Then your reputation will flourish always and people exclaim, ‘The God-of-the-Angel-Armies is God over Israel!’ And the house of your servant David will remain sure and solid in your watchful presence.

Yesterday morning  Leah said something that caught me so far off guard I felt like a deer in headlights.

(Again, the South. If you don’t understand my little simile let me explain: Deer freeze up in headlights. Oh, no! What do I do?!)

We pray about the day and end-of-grade testing for Rivers and then Leah, my sweet kindergartener, says this…

You know God doesn’t really care. He doesn’t answer.

Deer. Headlights.

There we were, rounding the little curve where normally I tell them to unbuckle and get their stuff together, and my six-year-old drops a bomb on me. I look back and ask her to explain why she thinks this. She begins to cry and says that she asked God to take away her stuffy nose when she had a cold but He didn’t do it.

I can see the approaching smiley faces opening doors. No way can I just tell her to hop out. A wordless, quick prayer rises from my heart.

Leah, listen. We will talk more about this later, but listen to mommy real quick. Look at mommy. We can always ask God for things and we should, but sometimes  He doesn’t do what we ask. But He still loves us and He is still taking care of us. We have to learn to trust Him even when He says no. You know how mommy says no to things sometimes, right? But I still love you, right? It’s like that. God has reasons we don’t know or understand but we can trust Him no matter what.

It’s hard to say that to your child. But I’m so glad He gave me the opportunity to hear her heart and encourage her budding faith. See, I want our “house” to be firmly established in Him. I don’t want to give them a platitude or brush-off. I want my daughters to live sure and solid in His presence.

And the house of your servant David will remain sure and solid in your watchful presence.

If you read chapter seven you see that David gets pumped about bringing the Chest of God out from under the tent and building a house for it! God’s response, through the prophet Nathan, is something I love. Basically God says, Did I ask you, or any of Israel’s leaders, to build me a house?!

Smile…I just feel like David’s desire to bless and honor God knit him all the more closely to God’s heart. In response God promises that He will firmly establish David’s “house” or family line.

So this morning, as I hear my rug-rats stirring, I’m asking God to make me the woman He wants me to be. I don’t want the platitude, church-pew version. I don’t want to dish out something to others I don’t want to partake of myself.

God, I want to know You.

See You.

Hear You.

I love church but I want something that can’t  fit neatly into Sunday mornings.

Forgive me for the damage I’ve done.

Establish my children, Lord.

Grow them sure and solid in Your watchful presence all of their lives…good and bad…highs and lows…regrets and revelations.

Make them great, Father. Not great in the eyes of men but great in compassion, strength, loving kindness, purpose and whatever You have planned for their lives.

Let them hear You. See You. Above all, know You.

And the truth is bright this morning. Sometimes it’s so bright I’m tempted to look away…but I can’t.

The promise of God for David’s family was not arbitrary. David’s love and desire for God drew Him further into Creator’s heart.

Who do I want to see my children becoming in 5 years, 10 years, 30 years?

I cannot control them with my words, manipulation or stringent life-lesson-lectures. (I try) I cannot direct them with platitudes or even faithful church attendance alone. (I try)

No, they have to absorb something in me that spreads…multiplies…scatters seed in their own little lives.

Sure and solid in His watchful presence is a strong tree….

I’ve been given the sapling.

God-passion can’t be forced. Deep desire for Creator is caught. Absorbed. Passed on like a family heirloom.

We need not fear or feel inept. For as we come He tends to us…reveals Himself in irresistible ways…infuses our hearts with His crazy-good love.

Makes our love-sick life contagious.

Leave a Reply

