Attention Seeking

Proverbs 2:6-8 (the message)
And here’s why: God gives out Wisdom free,
is plainspoken in Knowledge and Understanding.
He’s a rich mine of Common Sense for those who live well,
a personal bodyguard to the candid and sincere.
He keeps his eye on all who live honestly,
and pays special attention to his loyally committed ones.

Our Pastor presented us on Thursday night with a “Wisdom Challenge.” He invited us to read a chapter of Proverbs a day, together, for 31 days.

As I read my Bible’s intro to the book of Proverbs I’m caught by the words of Eugene H. Peterson:

“Wisdom has to do with becoming skillful in honoring our parents and raising our children, handling our money and conducting our sexual lives, going to work and exercising leadership, using words well and treating friends kindly, eating and drinking healthily, cultivating emotions within ourselves and attitudes toward others that make for peace. Threaded through all these items is the insistence that the way we think of and respond to God is the most practical thing we do. In matters of everyday practicality, nothing, absolutely nothing, takes precedence over God.”

Wow. That sums it up! Realizing we cannot separate the spiritual from the practical because truly, the spiritual is expressed most honestly in our practical.  I read those words and know right away areas in which I need more wisdom!

Verse 8 above always catches my heart when I read it. He pays special attention to His loyally committed ones. He loves us, sees us, and wants us all the same. But clearly the person living in candid sincerity and loyally committed draws God’s attention.

Goodness! How my heart longs for His special attention!

So, in my big fluffy blue robe with my thick red socks (mighty pretty people!) I’m sitting on my porch this Saturday morning. I hear children down at the playground nearby. Someone is mowing their lawn down the street.  I glance over to see my man working on his newly acquired tractor (hubby is a country boy through and through).  The birds are flitting and chirping and my mug needs a coffee refill.

This is my real life.

My practical, everyday and God-won’t-you-please-be-apart-of-it-all life. But the truth is that Creator owns all if it. Holds it all together. He gives me this amazing life on earth and the freedom to go at it in my own strength and understanding or to chase down Wisdom, Knowledge and Understanding.

Our choices never go unnoticed. But when we choose Him…when we choose honesty, sincerity, and make a determined decision to know Him then our life becomes a kind of magnet.

We draw God’s eye back over our circumstances, our needs and hopes. Because really every need and hope and circumstance gives way to His power and glory when we choose to run with Wisdom.

Leave a Reply

