Going Anyway

Earlier today, as I stumbled into morning, my thoughts began to hover and then landed in this well-worn place.

I really wish I could lose this extra weight.

There are certainly more important issues in life than shedding the last of your pregnancy pounds…but all the girls know the number on the scale lingers in the backdrop of our life. So, don’t roll your eyes at me. Yes, you. I saw you! Smile…

It’s a familiar trek around my possible addiction to sugar and I think, If I could only get in the zone! “The zone” is how I refer to this state of mind from the past when I’ve lost weight. My heart hears this whisper:

Walk in the Spirit and you won’t fulfill the lust of the flesh.

Walking in the Spirit…I understand the power in it. But when you feel like your flesh is too strong…has the upper hand poised against your face ready for another smack-down…how do you do it?

How do you ‘walk in the Spirit’ when you feel stuck?

Move.

And my heart absorbs this word. This answer and encouragement. Walking in His Spirit, overcoming the flesh, does not descend upon us in the likes of fairy dust. He is not Peter Pan and I’m not Wendy.

Walking requires more than the idea of walking. Requires more than the hope of walking. Requires more than talking about walking.

I gotta move.

Move forward.

I start by laying it out there…

God, I’m stuck. My flesh is too big for me. I’m asking You to help me and trusting that when I begin to move, Your strength and power will enable me. As I get started I believe the momentum will come. I’m a little nervous because I don’t want to fail…but I realize I will only ever fail in battle against my flesh without Your Spirit alive in me. So, here we go. What’s my first move?

The more I think about it, the more I realize I’m bothered as much by the hold junk-food and sugar has on me as I am the extra pounds. I don’t like feeling pressed, controlled and bulldozed! I don’t like being a slave to my cravings. (If you will eat a Baker’s chocolate square all by itself you are a slave, people!) The truth is, aside from vain longings to wear pre-pregnancy clothes, I am not making wise choices and I feel sluggish.

Am I nervous to share this with you guys? Will I have to re-think my next sweet tea or bowl of ice-cream since I wrote this post? Nah. Not that way.  I believe walking in His Spirit means Jesus sets the pace…whispers direction to my heart in each circumstance, in every day.

But I say, walk and live {habitually} in the {Holy} Spirit {responsive to and controlled and guided by the Spirit}; then you will certainly not gratify the cravings and desires of the flesh (of human nature without God).
(Galatians 5:16 Amplified)

How about you? As you read the verse above what comes to mind? What battle do you seem to constantly lose with yourself? You want to do better, be better, be free!, and yet will-power and good intentions have failed.

Does that make you a failure? How about me? Am I a failure?

No sir. We are human. And our human nature goes against Godly wisdom at every turn. Whatever the particular crop of misery growing in our lives, it was sown in seeds of rebellion from the garden on. Without His Spirit, without knowing and trusting in Creator, we don’t stand a chance.

But! If we’ll take that first obedient step, then I believe Holy Spirit picks up where our feet touch down. And then we choose to take another prayerful, trusting step. And another.

It’s not fairy dust or pie-in-the-sky for serious issues. It’s our move…our trust…our birth-right as His children.

Your shoes might be over in the corner, haven’t seen the light of day since who knows when. That’s okay, my track-record doesn’t sparkle or shatter any records, either.

But I’m going for a walk anyway.

One thought on “Going Anyway

Leave a Reply

