Sweet Surrender

Isaiah 45:8-10 (the message)
“Open up, heavens, and rain.
Clouds, pour out buckets of my goodness!
Loosen up, earth, and bloom salvation;
sprout right living.
I, God, generate all this.
But doom to you who fight your Maker–‘
you’re a pot at odds with the potter!
Does clay talk back to the potter:
‘What are you doing? What clumsy fingers!’
Would a sperm say to a father,
‘Who gave you permission to use me to make a baby?’
Or a fetus to a mother,
‘Why have you cooped me up in this belly?'”

This really tickles me this morning!

The wording is so outlandish yet making the truth plain and simple!

My heart catches and my perspective shifts.

I remember.

Who He is.  Who I am.

He’s the Maker. The Shaper. The Creator.

I am the made, the shaped, the created.

“Doom to you who fight your Maker–you’re a pot at odds with the potter!”

At odds. My goodness that is exactly how it feels when fight Him…resist His hand…pull away and turn our heart.

Here’s my thought (as giggly girls eat oatmeal next to me at the kitchen table):

As we get to know His goodness very personally…as we encounter Who He is in our everyday lives…we stop fighting the Maker. Because we know that He loves us and is very, very good. God can be fully trusted.

Sometimes, though, it’s hard when we can’t understand what He’s doing with us. Why He’s bending and pressing and stretching us this way and that.

Yet these hands that mold us are the same ones that strung the stars in the sky…carved out canyons and built mountains. Conduct the symphony of bird song and wind whistling through the trees.  These are the hands that blessed the children , broke the bread and reached wide on the Cross…

How my heart absorbs and remembers!

He loves us fiercely! We can trust Him with our lives! And how amazing that our God would give us a will of our own…this gift of choosing! An organic opportunity to know Him and experience His power  in the beauty and majesty that becomes our life.

Not at odds with Maker and Shaper, but in harmony and sweet surrender.

Leave a Reply

